Home » Poetry » 3715 – a poem

3715 – a poem

Cast off the trappings of here

Leave behind that which you’ve known

Let go of all that is near

Take the first plane, and go home.

A stranger in the old land

knowing that here’s where it starts

Feeling fingers of fates hand

Push together two lost hearts

Watching life beginning anew

for the first time feeling alive

together till their lives are through

letting go, and letting love drive

Together two hearts are one

after all the time that’s past

loving, laughter and fun

in a love that’s meant to last

6 Comments

  1. Joe Smith says:

    I’ll bet you didn’t see that one coming, did you? Sometimes you have to stretch your writing muscles to keep them in shape. Can anybody write one about Hey Joe? Oh…wait. Hendrix did!

  2. jadereyner says:

    Hey, a rhyming poem! I like! 🙂

    • Joe Smith says:

      I’m glad you like it! I think a lot of guys these days have completely abandoned poetry as a means of conveyance of thought. It’s like they feel too insecure to just put the words down for what they are. As if somehow, they can’t be a bad ass and write poems. I’ve got three words for those guys: EDGAR ALLAN POE. He was terrifying people with poems way before prose began taking over. Poe would write killer stuff in trochaic meter, and people would remember it like it was there child’s name. For example, who doesn’t know where this is headed:

      Once upon a midnight dreary, while I pondered, weak and weary, Over many a quaint and curious volume of forgotten lore—
      While I nodded, nearly napping, suddenly there came a tapping,
      As of some one gently rapping, rapping at my chamber door—
      “‘Tis some visitor,” I muttered, “tapping at my chamber door—
      Only this and nothing more.”

      Probably the most bad ass poem about a bird, and a man coming undone ever written…

      I’ll probably be doing more poetry in the future. I may even have a poetry contest. We’ll see!

      • jadereyner says:

        I have to confess that I don’t know much of Poe’s work however I have been watching The Following which is a fictional drama based on a cult built up from a devotee of Poe’s work. Some of the messages that have been attributed to Poe’s work (in this drama) are very powerful and scary and it is interesting how we each interpret things so differently.

        I like your poem because it is traditional and it rhymes, I find a lot of prose sometimes difficult to read because I don’t always understand the depth of it which is my failing. I hope that you do continue to keep up with the poetry and I look forward to reading more of it.

        PS. Follow my blog – Tom Nardone does!! ha ha.

What's your take on it?

I’m looking for…

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 121 other followers

I AM TOM NARDONE

I am a fountain of insight. Drink from me.

Laughing when it's not OK.

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

bossymoksie

sexy beast, emphasis on the beast

Whoa, Molly!

Writing, Rambling, Geekdom and Books, Books, Books!

thoughtsandrantsinjoggingpants

Shaming The World Into Proper Behavior, One Scathing Commentary at a Time........or Sometimes Just Talking About Stuff

My Life Less Ordinary

They say you die twice. The first time is when you take your last breath, and the second is the last time someone ever speaks your name. So do something with your life that is worth remembering, love your family and friends, and be every aspect of healthy you can be.

H.E. ELLIS

A quasi writer avoiding life through Zen meditation and grain alcohol

rants, raves, and rambles

Random thoughts, musings and assorted nonsense.

Essa On Everything

***Warning: Posts on this site may be factually incorrect, delusional, mean spirited...or all of the above

QBG_Tilted Tiara

Philosophically Speaking the World in Motion

Jack Flacco

THE OFFICIAL SITE

A Word in Your Ear

Stories and Photographs of my travels, Tales of friends, family, animals and my life

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

The Universe and Me

My commentary on life

undeaddad

explorations of mindful fatherhood

Nandan Tripathi

News, Current Affairs {India} *Dharayate Iti Dharma*

The Evolution of Eloquence

Improving the English language one letter at a time

Kaffeeklatsch with Athena

Cooking and walking you through all of my favorite homemade recipes and experiments, one guffaw at a time. Welcome to my crazy, won't you stay for some crass humor, recipes, and coffee?

Mooselicker

I'D RATHER BE DEAD THAN WELL-READ

