Home » Encouragement » A Promise From Me To You…

A Promise From Me To You…

Okay guys, I have to make a confession. It’s a bit difficult, because confessions generally indicate that you’ve done something wrong. Admitting that I’m wrong is certainly not something in which I’ve ever aspired to attain greatness . Yet, here we are. Tonight at work, I had a bit of downtime, and I had a chance to look through what I call my “Little Book of Greatness”. I’d started the book years ago, and “the book” is actually up to either notebook number 11 or 12 now. What goes inside, are all of the things that inspire me. Not just writing ideas, but actually inspire me to be great at anything I do in life. I like to take one of these books with me to work to read through whenever I have a little downtime. Tonight I opened it to about the middle, and this is what I found:Gene-Simmons-kiss-23685802-1169-1600

Gene Simmons (KISS): “The thing is, KISS has pretty good music. We don’t play stuff that’s all that technical, we play shit people can listen to. In the end, it’s all about the production quality of whatever you’re trying to sell. If we sell somebody a 60 dollar ticket, we make sure they get an 80 dollar show. People are going to remember if you try to pinch them for 60 bucks, and all you do is sit in the middle of a stage, strumming a guitar on a bar stool. For 60 dollars, they want you to blow their fucking socks off. They worked for that money. If you want it, you have to work for it too.  If you want to be better than the other guy, you have to work harder than the other guy. It’s that simple.”

He’s right. He’s absolutely correct. So here it is folks. My confession: what you’ve been getting is about 6% Joe Smith, and about 94% easy writing. Has it worked for me? Not really. I have some absolutely fantastic followers, some are drive-by followers, but most of you kick ass. With that being the case, I feel like I owe it to all of you to make the necessary adjustments. Most of you guys have a few awards. Congrats! I know from not having any that you’ve earned them.

The thing is, I don’t want a few. From here on, my goal is to have them all. Every fucking one. My promise to you is that from now on, the doctor is in and you’ll be getting a full dose of Joe Smith.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have to try to get a hold of Joe Hill for an interview.

3 Comments

  1. Very Nice Joe. I will be looking forward to it.

  2. tinkadele says:

    Get all over it Joe, we’re ready for you.

What's your take on it?

I’m looking for…

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 121 other followers

I AM TOM NARDONE

I am a fountain of insight. Drink from me.

Laughing when it's not OK.

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

bossymoksie

sexy beast, emphasis on the beast

Whoa, Molly!

Writing, Rambling, Geekdom and Books, Books, Books!

thoughtsandrantsinjoggingpants

Shaming The World Into Proper Behavior, One Scathing Commentary at a Time........or Sometimes Just Talking About Stuff

My Life Less Ordinary

They say you die twice. The first time is when you take your last breath, and the second is the last time someone ever speaks your name. So do something with your life that is worth remembering, love your family and friends, and be every aspect of healthy you can be.

H.E. ELLIS

A quasi writer avoiding life through Zen meditation and grain alcohol

rants, raves, and rambles

Random thoughts, musings and assorted nonsense.

Essa On Everything

***Warning: Posts on this site may be factually incorrect, delusional, mean spirited...or all of the above

QBG_Tilted Tiara

Philosophically Speaking the World in Motion

Jack Flacco

THE OFFICIAL SITE

A Word in Your Ear

Stories and Photographs of my travels, Tales of friends, family, animals and my life

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

The Universe and Me

My commentary on life

undeaddad

explorations of mindful fatherhood

Nandan Tripathi

News, Current Affairs {India} *Dharayate Iti Dharma*

The Evolution of Eloquence

Improving the English language one letter at a time

Kaffeeklatsch with Athena

Cooking and walking you through all of my favorite homemade recipes and experiments, one guffaw at a time. Welcome to my crazy, won't you stay for some crass humor, recipes, and coffee?

Mooselicker

I'D RATHER BE DEAD THAN WELL-READ

