Home » Humor » I know what happened to “Max and Ruby”s Parents

I know what happened to “Max and Ruby”s Parents

Lately, my youngest son Talon has been watching a lot of Max and Ruby. I never really stopped to think about what the show was suggesting until I started watching it with him.

To get us all on the same page here, “Max and Ruby” is a show that airs on Nickelodeon. It’s centered around two rabbits by the names of Max and Ruby (Of course. What did you think I would say? Harold and Maude?)  living together without their parents , and a small supporting cast of other rabbits. Max is Ruby’s younger brother, and from what I can tell, has some sort of mental deficiency based on the fact that he can fly a remote controlled helicopter with precision accuracy (a feat I’m incapable of), yet he speaks only in one word sentences. As you can imagine, this show is a real joy to watch.  Anyway, they never address what happened to Max and Ruby’s parents. After some expert analysis of the clues given in the show, and hundreds of hours of reading Sherlock Holmes books, I may have solved the mystery.

Facts: The parents are never seen on the show. Ruby is not yet an adult, as she sometimes does girl-scout work. Max, as stated above, seems to have some sort of mental health issues. Based on the size of the house the two live in, and both the array and quality of toys the kids have, the were either left a considerable fortune by their dead parents, or they have other ties to individuals who are lavishly wealthy. A grandmother is in the picture, although it’s unclear whether its the maternal or paternal. Also of note, Grandmother doesn’t live with the children, she merely visits from time to time. And last, but most telling; no-one associated with the children are concerned for the well-being of the kids even though Ruby is obviously too young to take care of the two of them responsibly.

My conclusion:

Max and Ruby are in a experimental witness relocation community.

The supporting evidence:

Both of the parents are missing from the show. This leads me to believe that they are more likely than not, dead. The fact that “Grandmother” is in the scene, but does not live with the orphans, tells me that there is an above average likelihood that she is not their real grandmother, but a grandmother figure provided by an agency to help oversee the welfare of the children. Replacement grandparents would be easier to arrange for kids than replacement parents. This is especially true if the children have seen little of their real grandparents since their birth (possibly because their real grandparents are sleeping with the fishes). Also substantiating the idea of ties to organized crime is the extreme wealth. Essentially, the kids are living alone in a large family home with no mortgage, or bills to pay (neither kid works). Also, Max often plays with some very expensive toys. One example, is this lobster robot that he has. The appearance of the lobster is actually quite deceptive. It appears to be a traditional wind-up toy. In reality, the lobster runs using artificial intelligence, and given that I’ve never seen it have it’s batteries changed, or get wound up, uses a nuclear reactor for power. What average kid can afford a toy like that? My point exactly. Those kids are freaking loaded. There are several other characters on the show that are Ruby’s friends, but I kind of get the feeling that they are operatives trained to guide Max and Ruby away from finding out the truth about their identities.

There you have it folks. There it is, out in the open. Max and Ruby’s little family secret is no longer a secret. How do you feel knowing now what you do?

25 Comments

  1. Do either of them work at the Buy More store with their friends Casey, Chuck and Sarah? Have either of them ever exhibited behavior that would make you believe they have “Cave” underneath their home where an elderly Butler named Alfred lives, who takes care of them? If not…then I agree with your Witness Relocation/ dead parents story. However, I must ask you to please refrain from sharing this theory with my nephew; as I think given time he may deduce it on his own, (given his recent “mac & cheese” interrogation techniques!)

  2. I love this. I am not embarrassed to say that when my kids were watching this show 2-3 years back, I kept asking, “Where are the parents? How could they leave them alone?” Thanks for posting this and letting me know that I am not the only one who thinks about this sort of thing way too much.
    Btw, I think your theories are wise and thought out. Now, walk away from the television.

  3. Teresa Cleveland Wendel says:

    I think they ran away. That’s what I’d do.

  4. cdavis says:

    I shot them for stew meat. Don’t tell Charlie

  5. Ned's Blog says:

    Man, now that all four of our kids are 11 and older, I sure do miss those shows…. Ok, not really. And now I remember why. Hang in there, Dad.

  6. Eric says:

    Joe a conversation that me and Steph have had many times as we are on our second child watching (Sadie is watching it right now) For a long time I assumed Ruby was an underage parent raising her son as her brother…but I like your idea as well.

  7. Trevor Reece says:

    Genius Joe, I must admit, I probably would never have thought of such an explanation.

  8. essaalroc says:

    I love this! I am petitioning that the back story of Max and Ruby be made and filmed exactly as you have scripted it.

  9. Michael says:

    Their parents crashed while picking up Ruby from Bunnyscouts. Max was in the car so he has brain injuries he plays with fire trucks and ambulance toys because he remembers them from the crash

  10. Carolina says:

    this is bull….i have seen on an episode that Max clearly does wind up the toy. Also if you remember, Max got the wound up lobster as a birthday present.

  11. Rachel Pringle says:

    There is a hat rack in the living room with a man’s hat and matching coat. I think it’s to get our children ready for a world where children are left alone to fend for themselves… Wait that is what we do.

  12. Phyllis says:

    As great as this was to read a small amount of internet looking turned up quite a bit about the show mostly that its a children’s book made into a show and that they do have parents and picture of them are blur faced around the house the writer chose to leavethe parents aabsent to show children they can work out isusses with patience and without the help of adults

  13. julie ann says:

    nope,your wrong because,max and ruby’s parents died in a airplane crash,and ruby was with her friend luis, and max was there and survived.That’s what caused max his mental issues.

  14. This is funny! The real question is what is up with Cailou????

  15. tyler dimond says:

    they died of heart disease

  16. This is very interesting, You are a very skilled blogger.
    I’ve joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your magnificent post.
    Also, I have shared your site in my social networks!

  17. No matter if some one searches for his required thing, therefore he/she wants to be available that in detail, thus
    that thing is maintained over here.

  18. I’d like to thank you for the efforts you have put in penning
    this website. I really hope to check out the same high-grade content by you in the future as well.
    In fact, your creative writing abilities has motivated me to get my own,
    personal website now 😉

  19. I appreciate the information in this article. It’s clever, well-written as well as easy
    to understand. You’ve gotten my attention on this subject.
    I’ll be back for many more informative articles.

  20. Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I really appreciate
    your efforts and I will be waiting for your further post thanks once again.

  21. Hello I am so happy I found your webpage, I
    really found you by mistake, while I was researching
    on Yahoo for something else, Anyways I am here now and
    would just like to say thank you for a fantastic post and a all round thrilling blog (I
    also loe the theme/design), I don’t have time to read it all at the moment but I have bookmarked it and also includxed your RSS feeds,
    so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please
    do keep uup the great work.

  22. Thanks for sharing your info. I truly appreciate your efforts
    and I will be waiting for your next post thank
    you once again.

  23. Katherine says:

    You need to see this shocking explanation of where Max and Ruby’s parents are. Finally some light! Brace yourself. . .

  24. Alexandra says:

    It’s a good hypothesis but ur unfortunately wrong. Max and Ruby is based on a true story. Their parents were driving one night to pick up Ruby from girl guides (aka “bunny scouts”) and they got in a car crash. He plays with toys like his fire truck and ambulance because those are the things he remembered on that night.Their parents died but Max survived with some brain damage. This is one of the reasons he doesnt talk in full sentances. He also doesn’t talk cuz his Grandma molested him after his parents passed away. That’s why he always watches super bunny. He thinks that super bunny could have saved him. This isn’t bs, look up the true story of max and ruby.

  25. June says:

    Why viewers still use to read news papers when in this technological world everything is available on net?

What's your take on it?

I’m looking for…

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 122 other followers

I AM TOM NARDONE

I am a fountain of insight. Drink from me.

Laughing when it's not OK.

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

bossymoksie

sexy beast, emphasis on the beast

Whoa, Molly!

Writing, Rambling, Geekdom and Books, Books, Books!

thoughtsandrantsinjoggingpants

Shaming The World Into Proper Behavior, One Scathing Commentary at a Time........or Sometimes Just Talking About Stuff

My Life Less Ordinary

They say you die twice. The first time is when you take your last breath, and the second is the last time someone ever speaks your name. So do something with your life that is worth remembering, love your family and friends, and be every aspect of healthy you can be.

H.E. ELLIS

A quasi writer avoiding life through Zen meditation and grain alcohol

rants, raves, and rambles

Random thoughts, musings and assorted nonsense.

Essa On Everything

***Warning: Posts on this site may be factually incorrect, delusional, mean spirited...or all of the above

QBG_Tilted Tiara

Philosophically Speaking the World in Motion

Jack Flacco

THE OFFICIAL SITE

A Word in Your Ear

Stories and Photographs of my travels, Tales of friends, family, animals and my life

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

The Universe and Me

My commentary on life

undeaddad

explorations of mindful fatherhood

Nandan Tripathi

News, Current Affairs {India} *Dharayate Iti Dharma*

The Evolution of Eloquence

Improving the English language one letter at a time

Kaffeeklatsch with Athena

Cooking and walking you through all of my favorite homemade recipes and experiments, one guffaw at a time. Welcome to my crazy, won't you stay for some crass humor, recipes, and coffee?

Mooselicker

I'D RATHER BE DEAD THAN WELL-READ

